Acetyl Glucosamine could be both, vegan and non-vegan. The vegan version of the ingredient is produced from plants with fermentation technology. Non-vegan Acetyl Glucosamine comes from crustaceous, insects, and mollusks. Mostly shellfish.
Acetyl Glucosamine is an antioxidant. Used mainly to reduce discoloration and even out skin tone. But let’s learn more about this multifunctional active ingredient.
What is Acetyl Glucosamine And How Is It Made?
Acetyl Glucosamine is an amino monosaccharide. It stabilizes skin color and balances skin moisture levels. Acetyl Glucosamine is a derivative of glucose.
It is also one of two building blocks of hyaluronic acid. This molecule is important for binding the moisture in the skin. Acetyl Glucosamine also occurs naturally in the human body.
Acetyl Glucosamine is a white, odorless powder, and easily soluble in water. Therefore it is often used in water-based toners, creams, lotions, and serums.
Acetyl Glucosamine can be both vegan and non-vegan. And the vegan version is produced from plants (corn) with fermentation technology.
However, non-vegan Acetyl Glucosamine comes mostly from crustaceous, insects, and mollusks. The most popular is shellfish.
Why Is Acetyl Glucosamine Used In Skincare?
Acetyl Glucosamine is used in skincare because it has the ability to reduce hyperpigmentation, even out the skin tone, and take care of the skin’s moisture levels.
Since Acetyl Glucosamine is a component of Hyaluronic Acid, it works with the skin’s moisture level and therefore suits well for dry skin. Acetyl Glucosamine stimulates the synthesis of the skin’s own polymer. As a result, the skin is able to produce enough moisture on its own.
Acetyl Glucosamine has another positive effect on hyperpigmentation. It prevents the tyrosinase enzyme from being activated. Tyrosinase is a key enzyme in melanin synthesis. And less melanin means decreased hyperpigmentation.
Acetyl Glucosamine also helps with cornification disorders. It reduces the cohesion between dead skin cells and the epidermis (the first layer of the skin). As a result, Acetyl Glucosamine exfoliates the uppermost skin cells.
Therefore, Acetyl Glucosamine is also suitable as a replacement for alpha-hydroxy acids (AHAs). And since AHAs in high concentrations can cause irritation on sensitive skin, Acetyl Glucosamine is a gentle alternative.
FAQ About Acetyl Glucosamine
Acetyl Glucosamine is an amino monosaccharide. An antioxidant that stabilizes skin color and balances skin moisture levels. Acetyl Glucosamine is a derivative of glucose.
Acetyl Glucosamine can be made from plants and from animal sources. Vegan Acetyl Glucosamine is produced from plants (corn) with fermentation technology. However, non-vegan Acetyl Glucosamine comes from crustaceous, insects, and mollusks. Most often from the shells of a shellfish.
Acetyl Glucosamine is not always vegan. Vegan Acetyl Glucosamine is made from plant starch. Non-vegan Acetyl Glucosamine comes mostly from shellfish.
Acetyl Glucosamine has several good properties. It is mainly used in skincare to treat hyperpigmentation. It also gets rid of dead skin cells and balances the skin’s moisture levels at the same time. Therefore it is also suitable for dry and sensitive skin.
Acetyl Glucosamine is not always vegan. Although the vegan version is made from plants, mostly corn, an animal-based ingredient is also common.
Before buying skincare products, we recommend doing a background check. Or asking the retailer about the ingredients. However, it is always the easiest to shop with 100% vegan brands.